Financial Releases for Designated Agencies


Uganda Road Fund (URF) is a body Corporate established by an Act of Parliament of 2008. Its overall objective is to ensure that all public roads are maintained at all times through provision of adequate and stable financing for routine and periodic road maintenance, undertaken by Designate Agencies (DAs). Currently, the Fund finances 164 Designated/Funded agencies that include 2 Authorities (UNRA and KCCA), 121 districts and 41 municipalities that manage Uganda’s public roads network. The sub-counties and town councils are the sub-agencies of the DLGs which consist of 1,129 sub-countries and 214 town councils. District Local Governments, the Local Governments Act, 1997 mandates local governments to construct, rehabilitate, and maintain roads within their jurisdictions. Local Governments include districts and municipalities.

Uganda currently has 121 districts that are funded by Uganda Road Fund, these are grouped into five administrative regions (i.e. Western, Eastern, Northern, Central and Kampala (Includes KCCA). They are more new six (6) districts that will be funded by Uganda Road Fund effective 01st July, 2018.